Africa News Politics

Top 10 longest serving presidents in Africa 2020

Power is sweet, and African presidents are doing everything possible to remain in power.

From changing their constitutions to remove presidential term limits, to intimidating and arresting their opponents, to rigging elections, to violating human rights and even killing their critics and protestors.

Elections in Africa are often faced with violence, and successive transfer of power is just limited to a few countries.

Once a president assumes office, by election or coup d’état, they start plotting on how to remain in power for life and even create political dynasties. Clinging to power by the political class, is like a cancer to Africa.

RankNamePositionAssumed office
1.Paul BiyaPresident of CameroonJune 30, 1975
2.Teodoro Obiang Nguema MbasogoPresident of Equatorial GuineaAugust 3, 1979
3.Denis Sassou NguessoPresident of the Republic of the CongoFebruary 8, 1979 – August 31, 1992 (1st time)
October 25, 1997 – present (2nd time)
4.Yoweri MuseveniPresident of UgandaJanuary 26, 1986
5.Idriss DébyPresident of ChadDecember 2, 1990
6.Isaias AfwerkiPresident of EritreaMay 24, 1993
7.Paul KagamePresident of RwandaJuly 19, 1994
8.Ismaïl Omar GuellehPresident of DjiboutiMay 8, 1999
9.Hage GeingobPresident of NamibiaMarch 21, 1990 – August 28, 2002 (1st time)
December 4, 2012 – present (2nd time)
10.Faure GnassingbéPresident of TogoFebruary 5, 2005 – February 25, 2005 (1st time)
May 5, 2005 – present (2nd time)

Related posts

Lawyer petition Constitutional Court to annul Age Limit Amendment bill

Joseph Agaba

Corona Virus: Museveni orders closure of Uganda’s borders


Uganda AirLines makes successful maiden flight to Nairobi

Joseph Agaba