Ankole News

Michael Mawanda Wins Igara East MP

Independent Candidate Michael Mawanda Maranga has been declared winner of Thursday’s Igara East Constituency by-election.
Mawanda was declared winner by Bushenyi District Returning Officer Mbabazi Godfrey at a few minutes to midnight.
With 16,209 votes, Mawanda beat National Resistance Movement (NRM) party candidate Andrew Martial, who got 12,991 votes.
Other candidates, Katana K Benjamin (Independent) got 1,477 votes, Ninsiima Christine Bekunika (FDC) got 497 votes, Bedads Kananura (Independent) got 480 votes and David Armstrong (Independent) got 76 votes.
The Igara East Parliamentary seat fell vacant in October this year after Andrew Martiall’s election was annulled.
It was a heated contest which saw the major players of Uganda’s politics including President Museveni campaign for their respective candidates.
President Museveni who was in the district on Tuesday asked Mr Martial to openly denounce his position on the controversial age limit Bill.
The President was campaigning for Mr Martial who happens to be the NRM flag bearer, at a rally held at Nyeibingo central playground in Bushenyi District.
The NRM chairman called Mr Martial to the podium and asked him to denounce his previous utterances about lifting the age limit from the Constitution.
Former FDC presidential candidate Dr Kizza Besigye and a group of other Opposition members including the newly elected FDC president Patrick Amuriat also pitched camp in Bushenyi as they campaigned for their candidate.
The by-election which cost government about Shs390 million came after Court of Appeal in October 2017 nullified the election of Mr Martial as MP citing voter bribery and uttering of defamatory statements in the 2016 general election.

Related posts

Big Names Denied NUP Flag for MP

Our Reporter

Lokodo vows to arrest Bad Black over threats to sue Govt


Kenya to reopen to international flights on August 1

Agnes Kihembo