Mbarara News

Mbarara Municipality Speaker arrested for attempted murder

Tashobya’s arrest follows an incident in which his nemesis; the Nyamityobora ward Councillor Amos Katureebe was attacked with acid leaving him severely burnt. The incident took place in Kirembe village in Mbarara Municipality, on Wednesday night.

According to Rwizi Regional Police Spokesperson Samson Kasasira, says that the victim was attacked by yet to be known people who poured acid on the upper part of his body mainly targeting the head.  Katureebe was rushed to Mbarara Regional Referral Hospital and has since been referred to Mulago National Referral Hospital for further management.

A relative to the victim who talked on condition of anonymity said that before he lost his ability to talk, Katureebe mentioned Tashobya as one of his attackers.

The two local government leaders have been at loggerheads in the recent past after Katureebe launched a drive to eject Tashobya from the seat. Katureebe and other councillors accused the Tashobya of conniving with the mayor; Robert Mugabe Kakyebezi and the Town Clerk Charles Lwanga to tamper with budget papers and execute works that are not endorsed by the Council.

Justice-Bamugemereire-at-Katureebe's home in Nyamityobora
Justice-Bamugemereire-at-Katureebe’s home in Nyamityobora

The chairperson of the Commission investigating land management Justice Catherine Bamugemereire visited the family of Katureebe had been due to appear before the commission, sitting in Mbarara, to testify on the theft of land in Mbarara.

Justice Bamugemereire said the people who attacked and poured acid on Amos Katureebe, a councillor of Nyamityobora ward, will be brought to book

Amos katurebe-LC-IV-Councilor-for-Nyamityobora
Amos katurebe-LC-IV-Councilor-for-Nyamityobora

The suspect is currently held at Mbarara Central Police Station.

Related posts

Ntare School Rwanda Campus Construction on course

Agnes Kihembo

Mbarara Mayor-Kakyebezi on fire over Shs. 300Million Katete Wooden Bridge


Kayihura to Face Treason Charges-Andrew Mwenda

Joseph Agaba