Mbarara News

Mbarara district NRM Women council primaries held peacefully

The NRM Women council primaries for selecting flag bearers in Mbarara district have gone on peacefully following yesterday’s irregularities and petitions by some of the candidates.

The Chairperson Electoral commission Dr.Tang Odoi was forced to send the Independent registrar Twijukyire Bagamba from electoral commission in Kampala to take over the elections on behalf of Mbarara NRM registrar Kacumita William.

Twijukyire Bagamba declared Monic Mutabarura as the newly elected NRM Chairperson Women council Mbarara district after defeating her opponent Hope Tumwebaze with 13 votes to 5 votes.

Tweheyo James a Member of Central Executive committee (CEC) urged Women leaders at all levels to support their flags bearers.

Rosette Kajungu Mutambi, the woman Member of Parliament Mbarara district asked the elected leaders to work together in fighting corruption and embezzlement of women funds by some of the leaders.

Tweheyo James-Member of Central Executive committee of NRM addressing members while Mbarara NRM registrar Kacumita William looks on.

Other positions on the committee, Rabecca Gloria Kitinwa elected as Vice chairperson, Arinaitwe Annet secretary for finance, Kamatsiko Doris Publicity secretary and nomination for selecting General Secretary is scheduled tomorrow.

Related posts

Parliament bus catches fire with 25 COVID-19 Patients on Board


Minister Kitutu, son escape Assassination plot

Joseph Agaba

MTN mobile money boss deports triggers Rwanda protests

Joseph Agaba