National Politics

Kajwengye defeats Fred Mwesigye in Nyabushozi NRM MP Re-run

The battle for Nyabushozi County National Resistance Movement flag-bearer for Member of Parliament has finally been won by Wilson Bainomugisha Kajwengye

Kajwengye was on Thursday declared by the NRM Electoral Commission Chairman, Dr. Tanga Odoi as the winner with  22,148 votes (61.1%), beating the incumbent, Col Fred Mwesigye who scored 14121(38.9%).

The declaration of the results took place at Kiruhura district headquarters

The reelection in Nyabushozi came after the cases of massive rigging in the primary elections held on September 4, 2020.

The vote total for Nyabushozi County, in which Col. Mwesigye had been declared the winner, exceeded the total of Kiruhura district woman MP.

Kajwengye will on Friday be nominated as the NRM party’s flag-bearer in the general elections.


I Defeated Fred Mwesigye hands down-Wilson Kajwengye

Mwesigye boycotts NRM poll rerun in Nyabushozi
Kajwengye Pulls out of Nyabushozi NRM MP Election

Related posts

Party Leaders to pick 2021 Polls Flag Bearers

Monic Namara

Uganda confirms 21 new COVID-19 total cases rise to 248


Madness of Godfrey Mutabazi must be stopped-Statement from UPPA